Activités  L'Est de la Russie

Contexte

En 1998, la planète a été touchée par des risques naturels inhabituels: l'ouragan Mitch et les autres cyclones tropicaux, le phénomène El Nino provocant des inondations importantes au Pérou, l'Indonésie affecté par la sécheresse, l'Amérique centrale et le Brésil dévastés par les feux.
Au milieu de ces désastres, les feux de forêt dans l'est de la Russie ont été oubliés par les médias malgré l'appel de l'UNDAC (United Nations Disaster Assessment and Coordination) qui avait décrit l'événement comme une urgence au niveau international.

Situation géographique

Khabarovsk Krai, situé à l'est du pays, est un des plus grands territoires de la Russie. Les 1.6 millions d'habitants des 788.600 km2 (densité d'environ 2 pers./km2) comprennent 25 nations indigènes. L'habitat naturel est d'une importance mondiale: 120.000 rivières, 55.000 lacs contenant 130 espèces de poisson. La région possède deux sites enregistrés en tant que zones humides internationalement importantes par la convention de RAMSAR. C'est aussi un lieu d'habitat pour des espèces menacées inventoriées par le livre rouge d'IUCN, le plus significatif étant le tigre d'Amur..

Causes

Habituellement, la région a un été chaud mais humide, cependant, en 1998, elle a été touchée par une forte sécheresse. Le manque de précipitation n'aurait pas pu causer un tel feu dévastateur sans la crise économique qui a frappé la Russie. A cause du manque de ressources financières pour l'essence, de pièces de rechange et des salaires des pilotes, la surveillance aérienne a diminué de 3 fois par jour en une fois par semaine. Si les feux étaient détectés assez tôt, ils auraient pu être éteints, ce qui n'était pas le cas pour les feux avec un front de plus de 50 km.

Plus de 1000 feux et 6 mois d'activité

Close view from NOAA/AVHRR-14 of 22 Sept. 1998 (color composite, bands 1,2 and 3) shows the large area affected by on-going fires (in red) and smoke plume (blue haze) in eastern Russia and on the island of Sakhalin, some fires affected up to 350km2.

Les feux ont débuté au mois de mai et ont fini en octobre 1998, 1028 feux ont été enregistrés pendant la saison. Un état d'urgence a été décrété le 17 juillet. En pleine urgence, 18 feux énormes ont été enregistrés, chacun affectant entre 200 et 500 km2. Par moment, les autorités ont dû faire face à 94 feux simultanément. La fumée s'est propagée de plus de 1000 km, du Japon au nord de l'est de la Sibérie.
Dans 85% des cas, les feux sont d'origine humaine. La population a été contrainte par la situation économique du pays à utiliser plus de surfaces boisées pour chasser, pêcher et collecter les produits de la forêt. On pense que le reste des feux a été provoqué par des éclairs.

Santé et impact humains

Un million de personnes ont été affectées par la fumée contenant de petites particules et du monoxyde de carbone (CO); les impacts à long terme ne sont de ce jour pas connus. Les deux grandes villes, Khabarovsk et Komsomolsk-on-Amur, respectivement 600.000 et 300.000 habitants, ont été tous les deux affectées par un niveau de pollution élevée. Selon les autorités régionales, la quantité de monoxyde de carbone a atteint entre 3-13 fois la concentration maximale admissible (CMA) pendant des semaines, avec des niveaux atteignant occasionnellement 24 fois le CMA.

Impacts environnementaux

Les impacts sur l'environnement sont de niveaux global et local. Les feux massifs ont détruit 20.000 km2 de forêt ainsi que les habitats d'oiseaux et de mammifères et ont causé la pollution de l'air et de l'eau. Une quantité significative de CO2 a été émise, gaz connu pour sa contribution au réchauffement de la planète. Localement, la suie provenant des feux a affecté le riche réseau hydrographique abritant 130 espèces différentes de poisson. La région possède deux zones humides, le lac Bolon et Oudyl, d'importance internationale, enregistrées sous la convention de Ramsar. La zone affectée est aussi un habitat pour des espèces menacées inventoriées dans le livre rouge d'IUCN, parmi elles le Tigre d'Amur, dont leur habitat a été largement détruit et les feux ont aussi affecté l'espèce de la proie principale: le verrat sauvage.


Aerial view of forest destruction

Impacts économiques et sociaux

Le village de Gorki, sur l'île de Sakhalin a été totalement détruit par le feu du 20 septembre. 598 personnes se sont retrouvées sans abri. Les feux ont touché une grande région boisée de très haute qualité. 20.000 km2 ont été endommagés par les feux sur l'île de Sakhalin et Khabarovsk Krai. L'Extrême-Orient de la Russie a perdu environ 15 millions de m3 de bois (une production normale par année est de 4.5 millions m3). Une grande partie de la population est d'origine aborigène et vive de la terre. Elle dépend de la chasse et de la pêche. 25 nations indigènes (environ 19.000 personnes) auraient été affectées par les dommages causés par les feux sur leur habitat naturel.

 

Legend
Lake and rivers
Landsat image
Fires in 1998 as detected by ATSR

This Landsat 7 ETM+ image from August 2000 transformed using principal component analysis processing (RGB 3,2,5) depicts only a portion of the impacts from the 1998 fires. 16 images would have been necessary to cover the whole area affected, Forested areas can be seen in green, non-forest areas mostly resulting from fires can be seen in red. In the whole region, the 1998 fires destroyed 20000 km2 of forest.


Poster Quick Look

Research conducted by: Pascal Peduzzi, GRID-Europe

Activities  Far East Russia

The context

In 1998 natural hazards of unusual strenght stroke the planet: hurricane Mitch and other large tropical cyclones, a powerful El Nino event caused significant floods in Peru as well as droughts in Indonesia, Central America and Brazil leading to devastating fires. In middle of this flurry of disasters, little place was left in the media for the fires in Far East Russia, although they were discribed at the time by UNDAC Team (United Nations Disaster Assessment and Coordination) as a "large scale emergency of international significance".

Geographical situation

The Khabarovsk Krai, located in the Far East of the country, is one of the largest territories in Russia. The 1.6 millions inhabitants over 788.600 km2 (density around 2 pers./km2) includes 25 indigenous nations. The natural habitat is of world importance: 120.000 rivers, 55.000 lakes containing some 130 species of fish. The region hosts two sites registered by the Ramsar convention on internationally important Wetlands. It is also home of several endangered species registered on the IUCN red book the most significant being the Amur Tiger.

The causes

Usually the region has a warm but humid summer, but 1998 saw a severe drought. The lack of precipitation, however, would not have lead in such devastating fires without the economical crisis that hit Russia. Due to lack of financial resources for fuel, spare parts and pilot salaries, the aerial surveillance decrease from 3 times a day to once a week. If fires were detected in early stages, they could be extinguished, this is not the case for fires with a front long up to 50 km.

More than 1000 fires and 6 months of activity

Close view from NOAA/AVHRR-14 of 22 Sept. 1998 (color composite, bands 1,2 and 3) shows the large area affected by on-going fires (in red) and smoke plume (blue haze) in eastern Russia and on the island of Sakhalin, some fires affected up to 350km2.

The fires started in May and lasted until October 1998, over the season 1028 fires were recorded. A state of Emergency was declared on 17th July. At the height of the emergency, 18 enormous fires were registered, each one affecting between 200 and 350 km2. At one point, the authorities were trying to deal with 94 fires simultaneously. Smoke streiched over more than 1000 km, from Japan to north of east Siberia.
The fires were 85% from human origins, people who have been forced by the economic situation in the country to forage more deeply in the wood areas, for hunting, fishing and collection of forest products. The remaining fires are believed to be initiated by lightning strikes.

Health and human impacts

One million people were affected during weeks by smoke containing small particules and carbon monoxide (CO), long terms impacts on health are unknown. The two largest cities, Khabarovsk and Komsomolsk-on-Amur, repectively 600'000 and 300.000 inhabitants, were both affected by high pollution levels. According to regional authorities the level of carbon monoxide reached between 3-13 times the Maximum Permissible Concentration (MPC), over a period of weeks, with occasional levels reaching as high as 24 times MPC.

Environmental impacts

The impacts on the environment are both global and local. The massive fires destroyed 20.000 km2 of forest thus destroying habitat of birds and mammals as well as causing air and water pollution. A significant amount of CO2 was released, gas known for its contribution to global warming, but locally the soot from the fires has affected this rich river system hosting 130 different fish species. The region includes two wetlands, Lakes Bolon and Oudyl, of international importance registered under the Ramsar Convention. The affected area is also the habitat of several endangered species registered on IUCN Red list, among them the Amur Tiger, who's habitat has been largely destroyed and fires also affected the tigers's main prey species: the wild boar.


Aerial view of forest destruction

Economical and social impacts

The village of Gorki, on Sakhalin Island was totally destroyed by the fire on 20th September. 598 people were made homelesss.The fires have affected large areas of high-quality woodland. 20'000 km2 were damaged by the fires in both Sakhalin island and Khabarovsk Krai. The Russian Far East has lost around 15 millions m3 of timber (a normal year production is 4.5 million m3). A relatively large proportion Krai population is from aborigine origin and makes a living from the land. They rely heavily on hunting and fishing. 25 indigenous nations (some 19 thousand people) have reportedly been affected, as a result of a serious damage caused by fires to their natural habitat.

 

Legend
Lake and rivers
Landsat image
Fires in 1998 as detected by ATSR

This Landsat 7 ETM+ image from August 2000 transformed using principal component analysis processing (RGB 3,2,5) depicts only a portion of the impacts from the 1998 fires. 16 images would have been necessary to cover the whole area affected, Forested areas can be seen in green, non-forest areas mostly resulting from fires can be seen in red. In the whole region, the 1998 fires destroyed 20000 km2 of forest.


Poster Quick Look

Research conducted by: Pascal Peduzzi, GRID-Europe